PDA

View Full Version : Critiques Requested

Laurelwood
01-30-2018, 07:26 AM
Hello, I'm brand new to abstract painting. I am typically a realist painter, but I'm finding that side of my brain doesn't want to work anymore...too much fussy detail. The exploration of abstract painting is so refreshing and enlivening, not sure I can even go back to realism. Please tell me what you think of these - the good, the bad, the ugly. :) Many thanks!

Materials used varies: acrylic paint, latex paint, gloss gel, flexible modeling paste, small amount of oil paint. All on acrylic primed stretched cotton canvas.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Jan-2018/1975111-Winged_Flight_-_small.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Jan-2018/1975111-T_Cole_Does_Spring_-_small.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Jan-2018/1975111-Growing_Cliffside._-_small.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Jan-2018/1975111-pinklake2_-_small.jpg

KreativeK
01-30-2018, 08:09 AM
Wow, Laurel, all these are stunning! So freeing, spring-like, and happy! I do realism at times but not 100% as the detail attention is very tiring. Love your works!!!!!

Laurelwood
01-30-2018, 10:21 AM
Thank you so much, Kay. Your work is absolutely lovely - especially the scenes and florals on your website. Been experimenting with irises lately - bearded and ruffly, so much fun.

birdhs
01-30-2018, 11:45 AM
The way you captured the texture in the photographs really lets us see the depth.
These are very unique paintings and the colors are just right.

no criticism needed
perfect

greggo

jimwhalen
01-30-2018, 11:51 AM
I'm with you about realism being tedious and boring.

My thoughts on these:

They are captivating. I like the way you used the texture and how it interplays and in some places directs or dictates the color. I especially like the 2nd and the 4th one. Look forward to seeing more of your work.

ShawnD
01-30-2018, 01:13 PM