PDA

View Full Version : Help, lumpy colors and can't layer...

otherworlder
11-12-2017, 12:38 PM
I am just getting started with soft pastels and am having so much (unforeseen) troubles....

I am using the Mungyo gallery extra-fine and handmade pastels (their two best soft pastel lines) and colourfix paper.I just can't seem to produce an opaque, blended layer with lighter colors in some parts. No matter how hard I press the pastel pigments just seem to fall away, and an additional layer just scrapes the bottom layer away. Any attempt at blending brushes so much pigment off. No matter what I do the support is visible. I worked on black colourfix before (a while ago), using Sennelier, and didn't have any issue. I did take an eraser to the paper, is that why? But I would image even it's completely smooth black paper I should have that much trouble? Or am I doing something wrong? Any suggestion and comment would be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot!

(On the photo the problem doesn't look as serious. But basically look at the forehead part, on the actual work you can see so much black support...:crying: )

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Nov-2017/1968973-20171112105945.jpg

Donna T
11-12-2017, 04:22 PM