PDA

View Full Version : Pastel help??

Crazyjade2131
09-17-2017, 11:07 AM
can anyone help me? I'm relatively new to pastel media, at least new to trying it professionally and I'm having problems with fixatives. I have a workable fixative that is specifically for pastel works but when I spray the paper and the work sometimes it works perfectly and other times it turns parts, or all of the work a cloudy white. Am I using too much or spraying incorrectly? It has ruined a few of my artworks and the latest one I have sprayed I've been working on for almost a month and it has left cloudy patches all over it and left me very disheartened. I've had to redo a few and even on this first spraying of one of the redone works it has done the same rhing! Can anyone help!!

DAK723
09-17-2017, 02:27 PM
Fixative is a complicated subject. In my experience here on WC I would say that most pastel artists do not use any. If they do, they most often use it at the beginning stages of the painting, but not at the end. The reason - it can alter the look of the painting. Usually, however, what fixative does is darken the pastel, so I am a bit surprised to hear that yours is becoming a cloudy white.