PDA

View Full Version : Carving Tools for Table Legs

TheJoy
07-22-2017, 07:10 AM
Hey friends, first off I would like to thank everyone for the acceptance on this forum. Everyone has been so nice, and for someone just learning how to express their artistic side that is important. Something I want to get into lately is wood carving, like banisters and table legs. I loved working on the lathe when I was younger and I love doing little work with my hands so I figure this would be a great outlet. There are probably tons of different tools I can get to do this with, but I am looking for hand tools only. I want to do with no power. If there are any really good beginner sets of hand wood tools that someone could recommend me that would be amazing, or what the basic tools that I need to look at getting would be just as great. Thanks in advance everyone, I am sure you all will know what to say.

SparrowHawk7
07-22-2017, 09:13 AM
I haven't got a lathe so I have no experience with those tools. However I have done some carving - caricatures and that sort of thing and I also have done Federalist inlay on legs and aprons. Those tools are different for the most part, but one thing you definitely need is a set of gouges. The size will depend on the scale you wish to use so I can't really say much there either. Pfeil are excellent - Swiss made. Perhaps a bit costly but with tools you get what you pay for within reason so a few dollars extra spent there will be worth it in the long run IMO. Here's a page at Woodcraft that offers some sets and some individual tools. There are many other outlets for such tools so a bit of research would be wise but here is a place to start. https://www.woodcraft.com/categories/carving-tools I get most of my hand tools from Lie Neilsen which are always of the highest quality I believe .. but you do pay for that. There is, however, a vast difference between a low grade plane and one of high quality. If you use it enough, the better quality is worth ever