PDA

View Full Version : WIP - Experiment with Pastel Pencils

kcpiegirl
07-12-2017, 07:37 PM
Hi all -
I am really enjoying your pastel forum - there is some beautiful work here! Thought this would be the place to post - I'm experimenting with pastel pencils and learning lots from mistakes along the way!

If you have some wisdom or feedback you wouldn't mind imparting, I'd love to hear it. (C&C welcome). What I am struggling with - I'm brand new to pastel pencils and actually pretty new to drawing in general. I'm a little frustrated with the loss of detail when I add color. Also, finding blending a little tricky - I'm using a tortillon stump, which definitely helps but still is ending a bit grainy.

Also, I'm finding the boats challenging - haven't totally gotten the hang of foreshortening yet.

I have a long way to go on this still. Let's see if I can figure out how to upload properly....

Anyway - this was initial sketch - started out with graphite before realizing these were not compatible - will alter next time. Sorry - my pic was not the best - trying to improve.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Jul-2017/2011545-Venice1-1.jpg

Next iteration, filled out left side:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Jul-2017/2011545-Venice2-1.jpg

Started putting in some color and attempting to define some light sources:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Jul-2017/2011545-Venice3-1.jpg

This is sort of where I'm at now - just beginning to put in some shading in the front left - still not done with color in other parts. Other buildings looking a bit cartoon-y :-)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Jul-2017/2011545-Venice4a-1.jpg

Closer up on part where I'm currently working on detail:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Jul-2017/2011545-Venice4b-1.jpg

That's all for now :-)
kcpiegirl

water girl
07-12-2017, 08:13 PM