PDA

View Full Version : Stay-wet palette


Mary Faith
07-10-2001, 07:47 PM
I am a novice computer user....and am SOOOO glad I have found this forum!...took me a while, but, here I am.

And just in time...after not using, or even opening my Masterson palette for a couple of months (had to be out of town, and also moved)....I found that the sponge is rotting!!...do I have to get a whole new one, or is there something else I can use instead?..my art supply store does not stock replacement sponges.

Back to the SOOOO glad thing....as most of you know, we are always learning, often just little things we were not taught in art school (plus that has been a while for me), plus the big realizations about seeing, color, etc....and it will be so nice to be able to come here and find someone who can answer the question I have....or to be able to share an "a-hah"moment. We pick up little things from various sources, but looks like I may have hit the jack-pot here!!.....glad to be with you all.

Excitedly, Mary Faith .....(Faith is my middle name, which I do not use, but thought there are millions of Marys, and the Faith would be easy to remember.

VictoriaS
07-11-2001, 11:52 AM
Welcome, Mary Faith.

You can wet a few paper towels and wring them out. I don't have a Stay-Wet, but I use damp paper towels (or Handi-Wipes) and kitchen parchment in a watercolor palette for acrylics. Works fine; keeps the paints wet a long time.

Victoria

DANCING PAINTBRUSHES
07-12-2001, 11:29 AM
Hello Mary Faith! I also have a stay-wet palette and have also used a damp paper towel instead of the sponge which works very well for me. Working on anything special? Have been busy painting on slate for the up comming trade shows. Happy painting!
http://www.PictureTrail.com/busypainter

DavidF
07-13-2001, 10:53 AM
Also see more on the subject at this thread: http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=656

Cheers, David

PS Can someone please tell me what I should have done to make this a proper hyperlink?

cuttlefish
07-13-2001, 06:56 PM
Remove the hyphen before the "http". A space should be sufficient.
Originally posted by DavidF
Also see more on the subject at this thread: http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=656

Cheers, David

PS Can someone please tell me what I should have done to make this a proper hyperlink?

DavidF
07-14-2001, 12:42 PM
Thanks Cuttlefish. I've edited my post acordingly, and now it's OK, even if it now makes my PS and your answer into a nonsense.:clap: