PDA

View Full Version : Fostering Creativity

avickery
11-01-2003, 12:53 PM
Greetings,
This is my first post so I will be brief. I am a Graphic Design student at The Art Institute of Atlanta. I used to design web sites and enjoyed it, so I thought that I might enjoy studying art full-time. I never took art in High School and have never considered myself creative, so being around so many creative people that produce such beautiful projects is quite intimidating for me. I am searching for ways to enhance my creativity, and find my inner artist. So, I was wondering if anyone had any helpful hints from their early days when they first started in the arts. How does the change in thinking begin to take place? Are there any exercises one can do?

Thank You,
Alan S. Vickery
Artistic Newbie

Eugene Veszely
11-02-2003, 11:00 AM
Tony Buzan has some excellent books on creativity, read some of them :)

JoyJoyJoy
11-02-2003, 05:23 PM
Originally posted by avickery
How does the change in thinking begin to take place?

Alan... that change in you is taking place now! Just the fact that you have posted with such questions means you are already on your way.

Look, you can buy all kinds of books and do all kinds of exercises, but the only way you are going to be an artist is to just do it. Start with a media, an artist, a style you like and copy that, over and over. Draw, paint, throw clay, sculpt... does not matter where you start, they will all teach you. Then, experiment with something else. Take a class here and there in an art form that interests you, from your school, a local art school, or adult evening classes.

Don't be intimated. Learning to be fine artist is like learning anything else. Never put yourself down... Do you know how many of us are intimated by html, never mind website stuff???? The very same creativity and interest you have in graphic art is what makes a good fine artist... you just use brushes and paint instead of a computer and mouse.