PDA

View Full Version : Eye and Lips study - lesson 1 & 2 from Learning Center

nachele
05-18-2017, 04:38 AM
Hi all,
first of all I'd like to introduce myself, I'm Natascia but you can call me Nat :)
I'm totally new here, I introduced myself on WetCanvas forum few days ago, and this is my first post here in the Pastel Forum.

I'm also new to drawing and painting, I've always considered myself a total disaster at drawing, and so did my art teacher :lol:
But I decided that I wanted to learn something, so I started drawing with the "drawing with the right side of the brain" book and I became addicted to the sensations :)

I have a friend who is sooooo good at pastels, and I love the effect, so I bought the cheapest pastel set I found at the mall, and tried it, with total disaster results, till I found some youtube tutorial and this forum...you all be blessed, this is soooo wonderful, so precious and useful for beginner!

I followed lesson 1 and 2 of the Learning Center, but couldn't post there so I hope this is the right place to post my attempts to reproduce the lessons!
I am using Mungyo cheapest 24 pieces set that was a gift (soft), and the set I bought, 12 Conté pastels (quite hard if compared to Mungyo), on sketchbook paper for the eye, and the Strathmore sketchbook toned gray for the lips. All very cheap materials, but being a beginner I don't want to invest until I get some confidence with the medium and I know what I want to do.

The eye from Lesson 1:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/18-May-2017/2007653-rsz_eye-study.jpg

The lips from Lesson 2:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/18-May-2017/2007653-rsz_lips-study.jpg

C&Cs of course welcome!

Thanks again for this forum, this is more than I ever thought I could achieve!

DAK723
05-18-2017, 08:55 AM