PDA

View Full Version : Need Suggestions

sportpony
05-03-2017, 10:31 AM
Need suggestions for "how to" with soft pastels. I am entirely self-taught, never in an area where classes or instructors were available and the only experience I have had has been with horse and dog portraits in pastel on velour paper. In the 70s and 80s I did a lot of commissions with this. My only *instruction* was with the Walter Foster book "Horse Portraits in Oils and Pastels" and I felt quite confident with my abilities. The subjects were realistic and fairly simple, the palettes limited and the instructions in the book were very specific to what I was going.

I have not work with pastels for many years now, though I've just finished one pony portrait in pastel on velour and I'm quite pleased with it, after a few 'hiccups' with things I'd forgotten in 30 years.

However, I'm now trying to expand into landscape/still life/ country scene type things but it seems a slow learning curve and I'm not finding the kind of books I need to learn more. Still no classes, no instructors and I have some vision impairment now that makes viewing video clip instructions difficult.

I need books or printed material and I need detailed instructions with a limited subject matter. A rusty horseshoe, a pot of geraniums, texture of a barn door, old wagon wheel, etc. I have found this kind of instruction book and online downloadable/printable lessons in graphite and colored pencil, which is what I've worked with the last 20 years. I am not finding the kind of books or online lessons like this for pastels.

I am slowly working through all the information on this forum but any suggestions about specific links, books or online downloadable/printable lessons would be greatly appreciated.

Donna T
05-03-2017, 01:10 PM
Gail Sibley has a great blog with all kinds of instruction and helpful demos:
http://www.howtopastel.com/

Karen Margulis also has a wonderful blog: http://kemstudios.blogspot.com/