PDA

View Full Version : Two Snowy Farms

jlombardi
02-25-2017, 09:12 PM
Greetings,

Criticism is always welcome. The following are farms near my village in upstate New York. I received a small Terry Ludwig set for my birthday and have been wanting to try them. I tried using my Selinners and Mt Vision to start and finished with the Lugwig. It really didn't pan out that way and I incorporated them at both stages. I am a novice who has been playing around with pastels about a year 1/2+.

9X11 Hahnemuhle Velour Light t Gray
I still really don't know how I feel about this paper. I like how it is easy to get a soft snow affect but I struggle to get any details. The pastel knocks off so easily without fixative. Also, in hindsight gray is not the best paper choice for a sun rise.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Feb-2017/1989777-IMG_0132.JPG

9 x 11 Colorfix Sand
I am struggling to get the foreground correct. The field had manure spread on it recently and I tried to represent this with some dark umber. At this point IDK is I should soften it with a very light pink, spray it with fixative and have a just snowy field, or convert the marks into grass. Additionally my road should be dappled sunlight and shadow from the clouds but it looks more like oddly placed post shadows.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Feb-2017/1989777-IMG_0133.JPG

Donna T
02-26-2017, 08:41 AM