PDA

View Full Version : Portrait of Pepper, border terrier

Schuee
02-25-2017, 09:12 AM
I am not very proficient at depicting fur in watercolour and want to improve, so I'm not particularly happy with the finished painting and am classing it as practise. I thought you'd be interested in seeing it, any way.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Feb-2017/1989627-IMG_9331.JPG http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Feb-2017/1989627-IMG_9332.JPG http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Feb-2017/1989627-IMG_9333.JPG http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Feb-2017/1989627-IMG_9360.JPG

Any help and comments would be welcome.

She-She
02-25-2017, 12:49 PM
Very cute dog. Sorry no help on the watercolour issue, as I'm not good at it myself.

Schuee
02-25-2017, 01:18 PM
Thnak you for looking, Sheila. I am sure you are good at something else!

tuscanny
02-25-2017, 11:41 PM
Great going, Penny. My suggestion for a dark colored dog is to leave the background white. For finer details, use a finer brush and try not to overload it with paint. I hope this'll help a bit.

Schuee
02-26-2017, 02:05 AM
Thank you, Christel. Backgrounds always worry me! I will definitely think of leaving the white paper next time, and a finer brush and strokes is a good idea. I think I will try again. I do tend to use thick paint and must be more delicate - I have the same problem with florals! 😊

Triduana
02-26-2017, 09:41 AM
This is good, I love the nose! I agree with Christel on the background, the dark colour overpowers it a bit and you lose the untidy edges of the fur. Starting delicately is a good idea, you can always build the colour up. I actually really the way it looks in the second picture. :)

Schuee
02-26-2017, 10:40 AM