PDA

View Full Version : How to get this effect??

armada_setyadi
12-31-2016, 02:49 PM
Recently I browsed some pastel pencil videos on youtube for learning purpose and end up with this video. This is from Cuong Nguyen, this is his demo, painting with CarbOthello pastel pencil on Sennelier La Carte pastel board.

My questions are:

1. How to apply pastel pencil that is so smooth like this? (defenitely you can tell that the surface is more like sanded paper but the drawing is very smooth)

2. Is this the result of blending with something or what?

3. I'm really new to pastel pencil, is this achievable when drawing using smooth paper, for instance I draw on Canson watercolor paper a lot? (but not smooth enough so that you cannot draw on it)

When I try to draw like this using canson paper smooth side, I cannot draw as smooth as he is no matter what I do (blending with finger, blending with color shaper, blending with another color)

Really appreciate anyone that can help me..

Youtube link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ErHn0Dy6cw

Screenshot from my computer:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/31-Dec-2016/1159664-Untitled-1.jpg

water girl
12-31-2016, 03:45 PM
Cuong is a master. He uses Sennelier La Carte sanded paper. If you watch his videos, he uses a very sharp pencil and it appears he uses a very light touch. He blends with his pencils, layer on top of layer on top of layer. Practice on the smooth side of the Canson until you are happy with the effects. Then move on to a sanded paper.

water girl
12-31-2016, 04:34 PM
I'm going to move this thread to Pastel Talk, where it may attract more answers to your questions. I'm leaving redirect arrows for you so you will be able to follow.

robertsloan2
12-31-2016, 05:43 PM