PDA

View Full Version : Sandpaper from hardware store

iryna_kz
12-27-2016, 04:13 AM
Hi all, I am new to pastels. Being practicing on sandpaper from the hardware store and just read in another thread that the painting won't last. Got me thinking - why so? Did anyone actually tried how long the painting will last on a sandpaper? Not that I think I am likely to produce something that is of a high value, but would like to keep some of my favourites, to see the progress.

Dougwas
12-27-2016, 12:06 PM
Artist quality sanded papers are made on archival or acid free paper and will stand up to the test of time. Hardware sandpaper will crumble and fall apart in a few years. I believe it is because of the cheap paper it is made on. Good to practice on, but if you want your paintings to last you will probably be disappointed.

Doug

robertsloan2
12-27-2016, 04:39 PM
Yeah, agree with Doug on this. It's not the sand or the glue but the cheap paper sandpaper is made with that will yellow and crumble. Not a good idea to work on it if you want it to last. For practice and working things out it's okay, but you're much better off paying for archival artist's sanded paper - or get a good sanded primer. Golden Pumice Gel comes in three grits, while Art Spectrum Multimedia Primer (Colourfix) comes in 20 colors including Clear.

It's relatively inexpensive to get 140lb watercolor paper and add two or three thin coats of Colourfix primer to get good sanded paper a lot cheaper than getting the printed Colourfix paper. Clear is a good choice for this in particular because you can underpaint with watercolor or use a failed watercolor as good sanded paper by either treating it as an underpainting or rinsing it to blur it.

I've tried both pastels and colored paper on cheap sandpaper and it's frustrating, because the years do pass and it becomes brittle and discolored. Something that came out great can self destruct faster than you'd realize.

iryna_kz
12-27-2016, 04:57 PM