PDA

View Full Version : Life saving tips for a first timer?

Crackers
12-12-2016, 10:23 AM
So I'm primarily an oil painter, but I have received a set of Faber-Castell pastels because I've always admired pastel work.

The first couple of tries came out mediocre. I think that perhaps I over-work the pastels? What's the proper way of layering? If there are some key tips for working with pastels, please send them my way! Thanks!

DAK723
12-12-2016, 08:31 PM
There is a lot to learn about pastels - primarily because some brands are very soft, others medium softness and then the harder pastels. While most of the medium brands handle similarly, there is a big difference between how very soft and hard pastels handle and how well they layer. The softer the pastel, the easier it is to layer opaquely on top of previous layers. Plus, the paper makes a difference too - and there are many different pastel papers!. You will be able to place more layers on a paper with more tooth, such as sanded papers. To get a feel for how sanded papers work, you can try some experimentation on regular hardware store sandpaper - perhaps 200 to 400 grit. Hardware store sandpaper won't last, but it handles the same as the much more expensive pastel sanded papers.

Because of all of the above, it may take some experimentation and practice with different materials to get a good feel for what works best for you.

Don

robertsloan2
12-12-2016, 10:19 PM
Play with sanded papers, even goof around on cheap sandpaper to find out how that works. Or get a sanded primer and use it on 140lb watercolor paper - you can get cheap brands in pads and save money, but if it's decent watercolor painter and you use good pastels the primer version costs a lot less than the sanded papers.

Other than that, try Canson Mi-Tientes on both sides. One side has a "weave" texture that's very distinctive for broken color, the other is smooth but very toothy for a plain paper.