PDA

View Full Version : Corel Painter Tips?

GregoryMartz
11-28-2016, 09:53 PM
Hi, all!

I've fiddled with an Ipad, then I realized it isn't as good or accurate as what I may be able to do with a drawing tablet on a PC. I just ordered a Wacom Drawing Tablet (screenless) to hook to my PC. It is going to come with "Corel Painter Essentials."

Do you have any tips for a beginner of using this program and a beginner of creating art digitally?

A little of my background:
I'm a beginner who has a concentration on drawing cartoons right now (where they are sketched, inked, then colored within the lines). Your tips don't have to be specific to this, but I thought I'd let you know that this is what my practice consists of right now.

LavenderFrost
11-29-2016, 10:33 AM
I am just getting back into using Painter. I'm not sure how different Essentials is but it should be pretty easy to use and there will be a manual if you need more information on how do do something.

Like any program, you will have to play with it for a while to see what works for you. Also look for videos on YouTube.

jow104
11-29-2016, 01:35 PM
Also you can down load trial Corel painting apps free. They often then offer lower download prices when trial ends.
Use utube free tutorials to get practice runs

GregoryMartz
11-30-2016, 02:37 PM
Sweet thanks! Can't be too different than some of the other programs I've used. I think I'll enjoy having a full program for drawing my comic art. I do have Clip Studio Paint, which is designed for comic art, but I might enjoy the workspace of Corel Painter better, especially for one-page art. That's why when I ordered a Wacom Drawing Tablet - I got the 'Art' version so it would come with Corel Painter Essentials. I'm a beginner, so I may be far from making my own comics, but when I start to create comics, I would most likely use Clip Studio (formerly "Manga Studio") for that.

keenart
12-25-2016, 02:23 AM