PDA

View Full Version : Hard, Medium & Soft Sets - Choosing From These

NoLongerJustAViewer
11-14-2016, 10:45 AM
I am new to the world of pastels and have read some of the wonderful information in your forums. I am buying my first supplies and would love to hear advice.
Based on the suggestions in this forum, Iím planning to get 3 non-toxic sets Ė 1 set each of soft, medium and hard.
After reviewing this forum, and checking out prices, Iíve narrowed it down to these:

HARD - I am deciding between sets of Prismacolor Nupastels and Mungyo Artist Semi Hard - which of these 2 is better quality and has better characteristics?

MEDIUM - I am deciding between Rembrandt Half and Mungyo Artists Soft Round.

SOFT - I am deciding between Sennelier Half and Mungyo Gallery Hand Rolled.

Also, do any of the above produce less dust than the others?
Thanks so much!
Ellen

Divasin
11-14-2016, 11:59 AM
I am certainly not an expert but I use and like the Nupastels, Rembrandt and Sennelier. I haven't been impressed by the Mungyo but they have been recommended by many here.

Alas, all pastels create dust but it is the sanded surfaces I find which create most dust.

What is great here is that there is such a variety of favourite brands and papers one way to narrow your choice would be to find an artist (style) you admire and follow their recommendations.
Cheers Leslie

DAK723
11-14-2016, 06:00 PM
Before you buy any sets of pastel, I would strongly recommend either buying a sampler set from Dakota Pastel which has one pastel of most brands, or buy a few pastels open stock from the brands you are interested in. Unless, of course, you have tried these various brands already.

http://www.dakotapastels.com/pages/softpastels-dakota-samplers.aspx