PDA

View Full Version : Pastels and blending

Srineet
10-27-2016, 01:03 AM
Hello all,

One question that I had was whether blending was an essential part of painting with pastels. Would every pastel painting normally use blending? And within a given painting are do almost all parts of it involve the use of blending?

Also, are there example pastel paintings where blending was not used?

I used to do watercolours and am somewhat new to pastels, and still learning what is the norm for this medium. Also,I assume people using children's crayons don't use blending - is that right?

Many thanks.

- Srineet.

Donna T
10-27-2016, 11:32 AM
Hi Srineet,

I think it's kind of a misconception that pastels need to be blended. They actually look so much more luminous and vibrant when they aren't! I'm not an expert on the science of pastel particles but I've read that they are faceted like diamonds with many surfaces on each particle to catch and reflect light. When pastel particles are blended (crushed, smooshed, smeared etc.) those reflective surfaces are destroyed and the resulting image is flat and lifeless. Pastels show off their beauty best when they are applied in layers and "mixed" optically. When we view a pastel from a normal distance our eyes are enchanted by the way the colors mingle and glow. When we use pastels on a textured surface we can create a layered luminosity that is unique to the pastel medium. One of my favorite artists is Loriann Signori. Look what she creates by layering pastels on a textured surface and allowing each layer to shine through in the finished piece:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Oct-2016/97763-1971864w360.jpg

SAS Designs
10-27-2016, 11:54 AM
Donna:
THANK YOU - Loriann Signori
WOW - just amazing.
suzy

Donna T
10-27-2016, 05:13 PM
Her work is inspiring, isn't it, Suzy? She can say a lot with some very simplified subject matter.

DAK723
10-27-2016, 06:53 PM