PDA

View Full Version : New to Pastel and I love them, but concerned...

Lebanks
09-13-2016, 05:48 PM
Hello all!

I am a new artist, and have been learning how to draw and paint with oils over the past few months.

Although the oil painting is nice, I really don't have a space at home that would be good for oils, due to the odors, turps, etc.

I had purchased a set of pastels a while back, and thought "Hey - maybe these will be great for working at home!" But since then, I have read many threads about how pastel can be unsafe because of the dust, etc.

I have a starter set of Rembrandt pastels that I worked with this week and have fallen in love with them! Now, I would love to expand into this new medium but worried about our guestroom not being good for a long term pastel studio.

Is it completely unwise to work with pastels at home? Are the PanPastels a safer alternative?

I am completely excited about the pastel! I feel right at home with it!!! The oil painting is wonderful but Pastel just feels like me :)

DAK723
09-13-2016, 08:44 PM
Hi and welcome!

I work at home and I would guess that the vast majority of pastel artists work at home and don't have a separate studio. So it is not unwise to work at home. Dust is certainly a nuisance, but it is not unsafe.

The biggest issue with dust - and that would be true of any dust such as woodworking and others types of dusty activity - is that you don't want to breathe in too much. It can be a real respiratory irritant. Many folks (myself included) wear a dust mask while painting with pastels. It's certainly a good idea to have a tray that catches dust falling from your painting set up on your easel or work table. I vacuum my work area often making sure I have a HEPA filter in my vacuum that will handle small particles.

I'm sure others may have some tips on how to control and handle the dust. Pan Pastels are known to create less dust.