PDA

View Full Version : Help with composition

Shallbe
09-03-2016, 12:33 PM
After multiple attempts and following all the hacks I could find on the forums, I've given up on posting the reference photo which my question pertains to, but...

It is a beautiful photo of my son in his kayak underneath a big beautiful oak in the water. Across the river is a background of gran trees.

I have attempted this painting once already... The trees in the background are my problem. I just can't seem to make them look right. I've considered leaving them out, but can't imagine how to do so. I'm a very baby artist, so not too many techniques or practice under my belt.

Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Shallbe
09-03-2016, 08:29 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Sep-2016/1988178-TJKayakTree.jpg

Ok...I was able to upload it by using my computer instead of my Android phone. I would appreciate any suggestions.

water girl
09-03-2016, 09:58 PM
My only suggestion would be to be sure to add cool colors to the distant trees and soften the edges so that they recede. I too like the way the tree frames your son in the kayak.

Donna T
09-04-2016, 09:36 AM
I can see why you need to paint this scene; it has a lot to offer in addition to being a nice shot of your son. Since the kayak and the branch above provide plenty of horizontal interest I was wondering if you couldn't break up that tree line in the distance. It is quite a long, unbroken horizontal band. Perhaps a bit of virtual chainsawing would relieve that effect and also give you an opportunity to add distance by pushing some of those trees way back. Something like this maybe?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Sep-2016/97763-wc.jpg