PDA

View Full Version : Early Morning with Dad

lisee
08-02-2016, 09:26 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/08-02-2016/1987071_early_morning_with_dad_08022016.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Early Morning with Dad
Year Created:
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 5x7
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Utilized an Image Reference from Wet Canvas. Added the boat. Completed on Canvas Paper / CanvasPaper

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Open to all feedback. I am still learning (only been painting for a few months).

Margaretta
08-03-2016, 05:29 AM
Hello Lisee! I like your soft colouring and the tranquillity you have achieved.:)
When I look at the painting two things hit me: your signature and the boat on the right side.
Maybe it's just me but I have a 'thing' about signatures which personally I think have nothing to do with the actual picture. In my personal opinion I would prefer they were on the back of the picture or at least hidden in some 'foliage'. I'm sure many artists disagree.:clear:
Now I know nothing of fishing or boats (I turn green on the local ferry!) but I would have used the WC reference library etc. to study them first. The fishing rods look very thick and heavy in proportion to the figures. Can they actually lift them?:eek:
Your title is 'Early Morning with Dad', a delightful idea, so why not put the boat and its occupants more central and larger to match the title.
I so like the sentiment and wish my dad had taken me fishing in a beautiful lake like this.

twinwaffle
08-03-2016, 05:35 AM
Mabye when framed the signature will be covered up anyway, but the boat and the signature being the same size and value, with nothing between them, it just gives me an unpleasant feeling.
...which is unfortunate because I think you superbly captured the feeling. the painting really does ooze a lovely, serene, calm peace, at least to me!

Not that I know what to do about it ha, just sharing my reaction. Good job,

Leanne