PDA

View Full Version : My First Upload- C&C please!

Emmee
07-28-2016, 02:31 AM
Hello! This is my first-ever upload to WC. I am still an amateur artist who would love some helpful, yet kind C&C on what I could do to improve this painting. It is from a photo I took near Lake Tahoe. I just loved how the purple flowers were glowing with the morning light streaming across the meadow. I like to fish, so I added the ripples in the water to indicate that it might be a good spot to get out my fishing pole. Maybe it was too much, though. If so, what could I do differently? Any other helpful tips? Thank you for any help you can give. :)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Jul-2016/1986916-6.JPGSave

Yorky
07-28-2016, 03:52 AM
It's lovely Emmee, wonderful light and shade. Congratulations on your first upload.

Doug

Trumper
07-28-2016, 08:31 AM
Just seen this,everything looks so soft and peaceful.

Emmee
07-28-2016, 06:46 PM
Thank you, Yorky and Trumper! :)

Wetbrush3018
08-01-2016, 03:19 AM
Congrats on your first post! I would like to offer that your ripple in the water should continue and tapper off to the right gradually other wise it seems to look like the ripple is a drain that is draining. You could add some light colored ripples and carry it out into the shadow of the shore line just above the ripples. The water to right seems to be flat and and have a horizonal pattern that adding a widening ripple pattern would help to show some value between the ripple and the standing water as it spreads out. For a ripple pattern that large the center should be flattening out and the ripple pattern would be looser as the ripples have already spread out so far. Your ripples appear if there is still something there still causing the ripples to continue. Hope that helps.

Emmee
08-01-2016, 11:48 AM
Wetbrush3018,

Thank you for the advice on the ripple! It sure helps to have new eyes look at it. I see what you mean about the drain-effect.

Thanks again!

landsmith