PDA

View Full Version : career switch, finding a job, etc

photogwannabe
10-22-2003, 06:16 PM
hello! long time lurker, first time poster.

i'm a graphic designer ready to try what i've always thought about: art education. either elementary or college level. any advice about getting certified for elementary so i can start teaching soon or should i go full time get my MFA first? also, i'd like to try volunteering to get an idea of what i'm getting myself into, how do i find volunteer opportunities?

my big questions is: will i be able to find a job as an art teacher when i graduate? i'm less concerned about finding a job teaching college - there seems to be more of those positions around. but should i decide to teach elementary school, i'm very concerned i won't be able to find a job, or that i'll be forced to teach something else - language arts or something that i'll dislike.

any and all advice about this whole process (quitting my job, going back to school, still being able to pay bills, getting through school, finding a job)
will be greatly appreciated!

thanks!!

Alan Cross
10-22-2003, 08:51 PM
First of all I think if you do young kids you will surely need to do other subjects...there just isn't that much money for the arts anymore. I am pretty sure to teach in any school you are going to have to go to school....I think if you talked to say an art teacher in middle school I would think they would be happy to have you volunteer just to see what its like at that age most of the kids doing art love it so not to many trouble makers....You might also look at art stores to see if they need a teacher that is one of the places I teach and its lots of fun....
Alan :)

photogwannabe
10-23-2003, 11:07 AM
thanks for the input!

Alan Cross
10-23-2003, 11:37 AM
Anytime and good luck!

Mkent41616
10-23-2003, 01:25 PM
Originally posted by Alan Cross