PDA

View Full Version : My first post here (My 1st Oil Pastel)

Rosic
10-22-2003, 02:04 PM
Hey everyone...

Just recently was bitten by the "Pastel Bug"... let me ask you veterans something... are the symptoms of "Lovin' 'Em" and "Can't do Enough of 'Em" temporary or can I expect this to be terminal?

This is my first attempt at Oil Pastels and only my third pastel work to date. The first two were done last month with Soft Pastels. Boy oh boy... these oil pastels are different! LOL! Gotta say I love them both and hope to be a regular around here.

I am passionate about "The Blues" and this is a piece done from a photo of my favorite bluesman... John Lee Hooker. (http://www.shs.starkville.k12.ms.us/mswm/MSWritersAndMusicians/musicians/Hooker.html):cool:

All comments and critiques are welcome and appreciated.

Rosic

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/22-Oct-2003/17108-jlhwc.JPG
8x10 masonite prepared with 50/50 gessoe-water / oil pastels / from reference photo / 6 hours / 10-22-03

:music:"I heard Papa tell Mama "LET that boy boogie-woogie! It's IN him and it GOT to come out!" And I felt so goood! Went on boogyin' just the same!":music:
:music: (Boogie Chillen!) :music: -- John Lee Hooker (1917-2001)

Visit my first two pastel works:
"Seated Nude" after Modigliani (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=133024)
"Woman Combing Her Hair" after Degas (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=135532)

vrashton
10-22-2003, 02:17 PM
I hate to tell you this but I think it is terminal. It seems once you start with pastels you have to stick with pastels. I like your painting, I also like the blues.
Val

Rosic
10-22-2003, 02:24 PM
Originally posted by vrashton
I hate to tell you this but I think it is terminal.
Val

I was afraid of that... LOL!
Thanks Val... us blues-lovers need to stick together!:D

sundiver
10-22-2003, 02:32 PM
Originally posted by Rosic
Hey everyone...