PDA

View Full Version : Opaque pastel pencil brand

kovpeti
05-18-2016, 10:45 AM
Dear Artist fellows!

I am a hobbist artist myself, most of my pieces are in graphite. I like portraits, architecture and landscape as well. I like to draw the details.

I always wanted to work in colors, therefore I was struggling with watercolor and acrylics for a while and came to hate those mediums.

I recently bought a 36-piece Fabercastell Polychromos colored pencil set. I like the colors and I like the amount of detail I can put in to my pieces with these. However, I hate that they are not opaque, they are slow to cover bigger areas and working with them doesn't feel like painting.

Therefore I want to try pastel pencils, which I hope will solve these problems. I want pencils, not sticks, because I want to work in details. I have two questions regarding this:

1. Would pastel pencils be adequate for my needs? Can I work with them in details, like my colored pencil, and are they opaque?

2. If yes, which brand you recommend? And which set? I am considering the 36 Carbothello pastel pencil set. I've heard they are the most opaque! The ones I tried (Bruynzeel, FB Pitt) were not opaque at all. :(

I am obsessed with opaqueness, because what I dislike in pencils is that I have to work from light to dark with them and not vica versa. I would like the ability to draw the highlights in the end, and be able to put light colors on darker ones.

I want to do landscapes and portraits in pastel, on soft-toothed paper.

Thank you for your help and input in advance!

Gaka
05-19-2016, 06:25 AM
This painting is about 15in x 15in and painted with hard pastels, not pencils...so you can actually get fine detail with pastels

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-May-2016/14892-Tiger00-04.jpg

MarvelousSauce
05-19-2016, 07:51 AM