PDA

View Full Version : Vintage Rembrandt & Grumbacher Sets

gmistix
04-20-2016, 01:01 PM
Hello,

I am relatively new to pastels but I tried to learn to paint with them years ago and put them in storage when I got frustrated. I had bought two 30 piece sets (1 Rembrandt and 1 Grumbacher) at an art supply store closing sale some time around 1986 or 1987. The price tag for one is labeled 1985 so I can confirm that date for the age of the product. I ran across them recently and decided to put some genuine effort into learning to use them.

My question is this: does the quality of pastels degrade with age? I know that a few of the Rembrandts have cracked but I can't tell if the color has faded. They have been stored for the last 15 years in a garage attic (not temperature controlled). Do I have to worry about lightfastness? Should I replace them or consider them student quality (because of the age) and use until I feel I need a better quality with guaranteed permanence?

Thanks!

Renee

water girl
04-20-2016, 02:40 PM
Welcome to the pastel forum, Renee! I have many Grumbachers and Rembrandts in my collection, and some are from the late 80's. They are just fine. As for breakage, that is not a problem. Most of us break the sticks in order to use the smaller pieces on their sides. Go ahead, use them, and just have fun. Which papers do you intend to use???

gmistix
04-20-2016, 03:24 PM
Hi Karen,

Thanks for your reply! The broken ones are still whole but splits down the sides from drying out, I guess. They were all in really good shape and I used some rice to clean them.

For paper: