PDA

View Full Version : Hello - new here

CaliAnn
03-31-2016, 06:40 PM
Lurker out of hiding
Hello there. I've been lurking on this site for a few months now and decided to officially join :)

I haven't done any art for about 25 years, and in November decided it was something I wanted to do again. I had thought I'd wait until I retire, but hey - what if I never get to retire?!?!?!?

I decided on pastels as my medium to get back into things. I only ever did acrylic painting before (for about a year - self taught) and drew.

I really enjoy this site - so many talented individuals and so many willing to help, guide, teach and share.

I started with my first pastels back in Dec. and have been experimenting, reading, learning and drawing. I have many, many failures - but I keep them all, as I think I learn from them. Here are some of my better tries:

Mister Kitty (long haired)- he's 20. Nu Pastels on Uart sanded:

My beautiful Boo (grey cat) who passed suddenly last Oct :(:

My friends dogs:

Still a lot more learning to do, but having so much fun with this!

I don't see my images when previewing - hopefully they come through.

PeggyB
03-31-2016, 06:46 PM
Welcome to WC CaliAnn. I think there is a WC policy that says you have to post something a few times before you can post pictures. Our wonderful guides will most likely let you know the exact details.

I'm looking forward to seeing those paintings you've mentioned above.

CaliAnn
03-31-2016, 06:49 PM
Thanks Peggy - I thought I did something wrong. I kept trying to re-upload...lol! Maybe there are now 100's of my pics online somewhere!

DAK723
03-31-2016, 08:45 PM
Hi CaliAnn - And welcome! I think you need two posts (which you now have) - or maybe 3 before you can post pics. It has to do with preventing automated spam, I think. So we are looking forward to seeing your work!

You might want to read over our welcome thread, here:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=814221