PDA

View Full Version : Color My World

Holebyen
02-23-2016, 10:43 PM
Color is a personal thing. Looking at colors on a computer screen or phone is not a true indicator of what you'll feel about them in person.

I'm a newbie who has been looking at various manufacturers colors on line for a few weeks, and what follows is my impression.

Great American colors seem "comic bookish", and loud. Lacking subtlety.

Unison colors seem muted, laid back, sophisticated.

Sennelier colors seem to be what their labels say they are.

Any comments, or suggestions for a rookie?

allydoodle
02-24-2016, 12:30 AM
Welcome to the Pastel forum!

I do think each brand has its own "color sense". You also have to remember each brand also has its own consistency, or "softness". Having a mix of brands has been very beneficial to me, as each brand of pastel acts differently both in color as well as application. Some of those unsophisticated colors can come in handy as a last application of saturated color when you need it. All of the professional brands of pastels can be used with each other, they play nicely as together. That is important to remember when purchasing, you are not limited with regard to how to use them.

My suggestion would be to buy a sampler set from Dakota Pastels, that might help you get an idea of what each brand feels like when using them.

I recommend all my new students buy Rembrandt half sticks as a starter set. They are not too hard, not too soft, and they are not too expensive. They are professional quality, so you would not be painting with an inferior product.

Mount Vision pastels are another great product, a bit softer. They are a great value, they are handmade and professional quality, and the colors are gorgeous.