PDA

View Full Version : the best watercolor books

rapolina
06-19-2000, 05:15 PM
as I'm a self-taught, all I have learnt is from books. I bought many, but I feel something is missing.
can you help me to complete my w/c book collection by suggesting me your favorite books?
I'm looking for those books that explain something more than the basic tools and techniques, indicating how to paint in a "special" and personal way.
thank you,
http://www.wetcanvas.com/ubb/smile.gif ciao rapolina.

rapolina
06-21-2000, 04:23 AM
Hey, nobody has preferred watercolor or drawing books?
I'm waiting because I HAVE TO learn!!!
http://www.wetcanvas.com/ubb/wink.gif rapolina

Burkeman
06-21-2000, 09:03 PM
I have quite a few books that I am really fond of. I just began painting w/c last year so the books are fairly recent.

Capturing Light in WC by Marilyn Simandle-She does very beautiful work that is very energetic and filled with light and color.

Painting Shadow and Light in WC by Skip Lawrence- I like a lot of his work as he is really able to simplify forms and base his composition on the quality of light and shadow in the subject.

Color Choices by Steven Quiller- The best color wheel I have seen adopted to watercolor pigments. This book is one of the best I have found on color theory and its application to watercolor (and other mediums).

Light in Watercolor by Lucy Willis- She has a very wonderful approach to painting that is very quick and filled with light. What I really like about her works are that they appear to be really fresh and not overworked or overcomplicated, sort of like quick studies but really more than that.

The Watercolorists Essential Notebook by Gordon MacKenzie- A recent book that really covers items for the beginner to the seasoned veteran. I really like some of his approaches to painting different things, especially when he uses instruments other than the paintbrush to apply the paint.