PDA

View Full Version : Couple questions on digital art

TBHeART
01-06-2016, 11:33 AM
Hello everyone.

I have never tried digital and I just started painting actually. I have this project I am working on, Called The Broken Heart. I have been having an amazing time practicing, painting on 24x24 canvas and watching it all come together.
Eventually I want to have a space and hang em all up, invite a few people Maybe in 2 or 3 years.
So I am starting to entertain the idea of learning digital art (even if it takes me years to learn) I just love working on my computer, whatever it is. It also works better in my tiny NYC apartment lol
BUT..Couple things, What is the deal with ppl saying it isn't real art? Or less valuable? I am not trying to sound ignorant or offend anyone but this is what I hear.
Also when I Paint I walk in to blick and buy a primed canvas, most of the time on sale, How much more is it to print and then have it stretched? thanks!

Yorky
01-06-2016, 12:12 PM
Well, check out the work by David Hockney (http://www.hockneypictures.com/current.php)who has transitioned from acrylics to digital art.

Doug

maria_khurram
01-06-2016, 12:50 PM
In digital art, we paint every stroke either with mouse or tablet. So it can't be considered less valuable art. Not everyone can paint in Painter, Artrage or whatever digital painting software. Only artists can do it.

LavenderFrost
01-07-2016, 12:58 PM
Digital artists have trouble being accepted in some places, but remember that acrylic artists still have some trouble too. It seems to take a long time for some people to accept things.

Also, many don't understand what digital art, and especially digital painting, is. But there are so many methods that it can be confusing. You have to educate people about what you do because people don't know if you have painted every stroke or if you worked with a photo and filters. For some it doesn't matter how it was done as long as they like the image, and for others it does matter.