PDA

View Full Version : WIP - Lola

stevenmont
12-27-2015, 02:21 AM
Hello,

This is an 8x8 inch graphite drawing on charcoal paper that I've spent about two hours on so far. It's based on a photo of my dog, which I've also attached.

I plan to darken the eyes, nose, ears, and darkest patches of the fur slightly, as well as add value to the background.

This is my first attempt at drawing a dog, so I just wanted to know if anyone had any advice on how to improve this and future drawings.

DMSKJ
12-27-2015, 08:27 AM
It looks like you have a good start. In the reference photo, measure the distance from the eyes to the nose and from the ear to the eye. Also, check the angle of the eyes and ears. In the drawing, measure the same areas and compare them to the reference. It looks like the dogs left eye and ear should be lowered. I hope this helps.
Dottie

fedetony
12-27-2015, 09:22 AM
I've done until now only 2 sketches in Graphite. The most important is to make a first outline with the correct proportions, then star adding the details. I'm not near good so I can not give you more tips. I use different value pencils, start with a very light one 2H and gradually start adding dark building the shapes... 2h,H,HB,B,2B...up to 8B. You sketch many lines, then retouch the best of them in a darker level...
Thats what I know...

stevenmont
12-27-2015, 10:17 AM
Hi Dottie, I'll definitely check those proportions and revise the drawing. I see what you mean regarding her left side, especially the ear. Thank you.

And thank you for the advice fedetony, that sounds like what I've done so far. I began with a 2H and so far I've used an HB for the darker areas. I'll do what you said and build up the darker values with softer pencils. I'm glad I'm using the right technique at least. :lol:

chammi kaiser
12-27-2015, 01:39 PM