PDA

View Full Version : New to Digital art

Willowshades
12-16-2015, 11:10 AM
I decided to dive into the digital art world. It is so much fun. You don't have to worry about running out of supplies.

I have Photoshop CS4. Corel Painter x3 which is what two of the picture I posted are created on, and I the other picture of the sketch was created on Sketchbook Pro6. I am new to using a graphic tablet so getting used to that is it's own challenge.

Anyone have any pointers?

LavenderFrost
12-16-2015, 11:55 AM
You will get used to using a graphics tablet with practice. I'm so used to it now I actually find it harder to paint on my iPad. lol

Raybrite
12-16-2015, 02:30 PM
You might take a look at clip paint studio and Krita. At least one of them is free.
They both have layers. I use the bottom layer for a background. The next layer for either a pencil sketch (digital) or scan a photo or drawn reference in.
The third layer is where you can really zoom in and paint the picture.
They are really good programs to use.
Ken

Willowshades
12-16-2015, 09:39 PM
I actually used layers in the pencil sketch below. I saved the tree but forgot to save the background. I really loved the background too. The tree was blocking most of it. I love layers. It is so much easier to sketch using layers than traditional. For some reason I find it easier to sketch the subject first and then the background.

Thank you.

LavenderFrost
12-17-2015, 11:01 AM
I love layers too, it makes it easier to fix or change things which makes digital good for when I want to create an image from imagination. Also, I got in the habit of shading with a large airbrush so it's nice to be able to isolate the part I'm working on.

starduskmoon
12-17-2015, 02:51 PM