PDA

View Full Version : Sandpaper in the UK

KerryNB
11-20-2015, 02:12 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am based in the UK and I am new to pastel and art in general. I have managed to bag some bargains with regard sets of pastels and have started experimenting. I have discovered that the paper used makes the difference between me enjoying using them and wondering why on earth I ever thought pastels would be a good idea.

While my ability to produce a good painting is practically non-existent I want to keep costs down. With this in mind, and having a sample of Sennelier card in a box of Sennelier pastels for comparison, I set out trying to find a cheap sandpaper and discovered this from Screwfix: http://www.screwfix.com/search?search=wet+and+dry+paper#_=p The 320 grit is nearest to Sennelier in texture.

I also discovered a wet and dry paper at Wilko that is a 400 grit fine, though I could only get in in sheets 140mm x 230mm.

I wondered if anyone else in the UK has found any good reasonably priced sandpapers for newbies like me to experiment with? If so what brands were they?

Thanks
Kerry

robertsloan2
11-20-2015, 10:35 PM
One of the least expensive ways to do sanded paper is to get clear acrylic gesso and add grit, priming watercolor paper that's at least 140lb. Or the clear Art Spectrum Multimedia (Colourfix) primer, or Golden Pumice Gel (comes in three grits). Primers on watercolor paper you can do practice paper on cheap mouldmade watercolor pads as long as its 140lb and get same good surface on top quality all rag watercolor paper.

Fisher 400 is a great sanded paper recommended by Colorix, I got to try it once and it's fantastic. Similar to Uart but can't remember exact grit of the Uart. Uart may actually be avalable. Try Jacksons online for sanded papers, they may have some.