PDA

View Full Version : One Steo At A Time... Critique please!

Angela09
11-16-2015, 09:23 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/11-16-2015/1977491_image.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: One Steo At A Time... Critique please!
Year Created:
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 36x24
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Description of this painting is in the open critique forum.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Any critique is welcome! I am new to painting!

fedetony
11-17-2015, 07:28 AM
Well, it seems to me all points to the center white cloud... And that is not a very interesting subject...
the blue spaces form arrow type shape pointing to the center, the road to the center, the mountain peak to the center, and there is nothing there? Maybe consider adding there a subject such as a Person standing, a house, a tree, or a flower, or light form the sunset...

It certainly looks like a slope up to me...

Angela09
11-17-2015, 10:59 AM
Hi, thank you for replying! You're right, I thought that it needed something too but I was trying to imply that the climb up leads to brighter days and that you don't know what lies ahead. A sunset is a good suggestion, looking at it now, perhaps I could have made the bottom of the hill a little more dark and dreary, or added some mist at the edges? Feedback definitely helps, as I have a lot to learn! Thanks again!

Wassie
11-17-2015, 12:41 PM
Beautiful sky. The addition of a sunset/sunrise would really tell your story. I would like to see a figure taking that "One step at a time."

KolinskyRed
11-17-2015, 01:37 PM
Hi Angela09, I like your concept. Perhaps experimenting with the overall lightness/darkness pattern of the three big shapes: sky, hill, path. Here's a black and white gray scale of some changes to these large patterns.