PDA

View Full Version : the mangled fly

corfublue
10-28-2015, 05:46 PM
when you make a fly that catches a hundred fish.

I know with abstracts its good to put most of your shapes at the top of the canvas. abstract is new to me and im struggling with that. its counter intuitive to what I have been doing for ten years. im inching my way up there. next time I will exaggerate my space. but im excited about the paint application though.
I might add more whites mid top. but for now, or today im done with this one and on to another. I had been struggling with this one for a few days.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Oct-2015/58344-mangled_fly.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Oct-2015/58344-mangled_fly_studio_shot.jpg

birdhs
10-28-2015, 06:11 PM
I know with abstracts its good to put most of your shapes at the top of the canvas
reallY ??

I must been playing in mud outside the day that rule was issued
never heard of it.

having said that:
your instincts for composition seem spot on
the colors and patterns hooked me..
(sorry jes couldn't resist the punopportunity)

really liking this

greggo

corfublue
10-28-2015, 06:20 PM
I am motivated by matisse and deibenkorn. (deibenkorn who took from matisse) that was their ideologies for composition. just getting through a huge deibenkorn book. its helping me focus.

it kind of makes sense because when you look at realism, we are used to horizons or cityscapes or whatever that has most of the shapes lower.
helps bend the brain.
thank you greggo. im more excited about the one I am working on now... everytime it makes more and more sense. I just have to accept the process and let each painting exist for what it is. :)

birdhs
10-28-2015, 11:05 PM
My instructor loved Dieberkorn, me: I like some of his work.

I admit I have never studied him much, but now you have captured my interest.
Do you mind sharing the ISBN, name and author of the book?
Perhaps I will add it to my winter reading

thanx

greggo