GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Church
Year Created:
Medium: Watercolor
Surface: Watercolor Paper
Dimension: 9 x 12 inches
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
hi everyone, I am trying to lea<br> watercolour painting and would like have your comments on this painting which i have painted.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I would love to be criticised thoroughly with notes to improve my work in future.

TerryCurley
10-26-2015, 08:52 AM
I love the deep colors. You don't see many watercolor paintings with such deep rich colors. It's a good painting. In my opinion it's very good composition.

The only thing I see that seems a little off to me is the slant of the roof. I understand that for linear perspective it needs to be slanted down a bit, but my eyes are telling me that this slant is overdone, and I'm not understanding the little notch on the bottom of the roof at the front of the church . But I'm still a novice so it's possible I'm wrong about that.

ash2780
10-26-2015, 12:25 PM
Thanks a lot TerryCurley for looking at my post, i also agree on your comments about the roof, I will improve on my drawing in future. Thanks a lot

Mark Szymanski
10-27-2015, 07:22 PM
This painting has a lot of charm on its own, the colors are bright with echoing color around the painting. The color of the sky is echoed in the skirt, the red of her top is echoed in the flowers. His shirt has some of the road within it. The palm tree sweeps upward towards the steeple, giving uplift in this area. The vertical lines are nice and vertical which is also echoed in the upright trees in front of the church. The placement of the people breaks the long line of the road into unequal masses which is a nice touch.

If you're going for a bit more realistic painting, then there are a couple of issues...