PDA

View Full Version : Technique Help

Kjewels24
10-21-2015, 08:30 PM
Hi, I'm relatively new to abstract art and poured painting but I saw an effect that I was trying to create in my painting and I was wondering if anyone knew how it was done. It is almost like veining or a snowflake. Seen here:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Oct-2015/1976825-image.jpg

I had heard something about flow aid so I tried it and it did not give the desired result.

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Kjewels24
10-21-2015, 08:36 PM
:wink2:

Eraethil
10-21-2015, 10:43 PM
Try using liquid acrylics as a base (still wet) and then pouring high flow acrylics atop or along side. It will be hit and miss depending on the difference in viscosity of the two paints. Also, sometimes the veining appears and then speads out, diffusing into a wash. Good luck. (and take notes)

Kjewels24
10-21-2015, 11:25 PM
Thank you, I'll definitely have to try that. And notes are a great idea (especially when experimenting in the wee hours!)

birdhs
10-21-2015, 11:52 PM
Welcome to us abstractkies,
that looks quite cool
hoping someone can help
I would like to know how to do that
I thought it was a watercolor,
but I don't do watercolors

greggo

Gollator
10-23-2015, 02:55 PM
the tiny tentacles looks like guided by a stick to me, too regular to be created purely by physics. I use a hair spray can filled with water, this could be used for the washed away parts in the upper right. You can experiment with the drying time, let parts dry. The yellow blobs seem to have some gel effect going on.

If experimenting, make sure your floor is covered by plastique foils ;)

magnolya
10-23-2015, 11:06 PM
Hi, this is a special type of paint used with a medium rather than a technique. Here are a couple of links for you to explore this cool paint product. I remember seeing this in the gallery forum here some months ago. Have fun !:wave:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1370863

http://artwaters.com/