PDA

View Full Version : Mount Ascutney, Vermont

dcc
10-14-2015, 10:31 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/10-14-2015/78420_mountains_for_web.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Mount Ascutney, Vermont
Year Created:
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 20 x 24
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I am new to using acrylics as a medium. I know that the colors in the photo are not accurate, even though I tried to adjust them in photoshop. If changes are necessary I would appreciate tips on how to go about it with this particular medium since I don't know all the tricks and techniques.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
One comment I heard about this piece is that it looks like something is missing.

fedetony
10-14-2015, 12:01 PM
awesome...!! really like your paint!...

La_
10-14-2015, 02:33 PM
balanced composition
nice variety of values and shapes and i really enjoy the bright bits of yellow and the hints of orange here and there so i hope the real piece is close to what's represented here digitally
a potential improvement might be in the top edges of the hills - the more distant one appears crisper, sharper than the one in front and for better atmospheric perspective, that should be the opposite.

i feel there is nothing 'missing', it doesn't Need a deer or moose or human, for example

la

TerryCurley
10-14-2015, 03:05 PM
Your trees are done very well, especially the highlighting of them.

Your perspective is good, but I do think lighten the last mountain more may make it even better.

Over all a really good painting.

jessw
10-14-2015, 03:52 PM
Beautiful painting.

I believe that you could better utilize the principles of atmospheric perspective to create the illusion of depth in your mountain range. I would expect the more distant mountain to be duller in coloration and overall lighter than the nearest mountain. This will help it to recede more into the distance.