GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Autumn Landscape
Year Created:
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 11
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Hi all. This is a photo of the painting so there is a bit of light reflected on the left of the painting.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I am looking for a general critique of this painting. Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Deb

fedetony
10-05-2015, 10:15 AM
Hi Deb, I'm no pro but just my first impression is that the red leaves look like they do not belong to the tree trunk behind, seem to me are missing some branches behind. Also the reflection does not contain the red color reflecting. also the rocks look somehow flat, the shadows are missing, in the texture as also in the surrounding.

I like the colors you used :) . Don't take my word, I'm not educated in art.

DeborSue
10-05-2015, 10:20 AM
Hi Tony! Thanks for your critique. I know there seems to be something missing and I think you may have hit on a couple of the issues I was unable to discern. I will definitely take your critique and work off of it!
Thanks again,
Deb

TerryCurley
10-05-2015, 04:20 PM
Hi Deb. I love the warm colors of this picture. I think it is very good. I do find that my eyes go right to the whitish boulders at the base of the tree, not sure if you want that to be the focal point or not.

DeborSue
10-05-2015, 04:26 PM
Thank you, Terry. I think the focal point is intended to be the tree. I agree that one'e eyes are directected to the stones.
Deb

kin3
10-06-2015, 07:46 AM
Nice job. I would put more shadows on the rock. I really like this one.

DeborSue
10-06-2015, 12:39 PM
Thanks, Kin3~
I appreciate your input. I have worked it more and I think more shadows on the rocks was one of the things I did.
Deb

Mark Szymanski
10-06-2015, 05:01 PM
Nice so far... Since the tree is supposed to be your subject, perhaps thinking about the treatment you've given so far to it can be of some help.