PDA

View Full Version : please help re save as paintings

jow104
10-02-2015, 03:46 AM
I am using painter x6 (and other painters)and when I save as a painting in Rif format to a folder it saves ok, no problem.

However when I return to search for the file at a later date I do not see an image of the saved file if I have save as a Rif. but you can see a preview if saved as jpeg. Is this normal or have I not created the correct setup?

Elainepsq
11-30-2015, 04:57 PM
It would help to know what operating system you are working on.
I'm using Mac, OS 10.10.3. I don't use painter anymore, and it isn't loaded on this machine, but when I went into my archives on an external drive, it did preview RIF files. They look really pixelated, but I did get previews in the finder.

jow104
12-01-2015, 03:39 AM
Thanks, I am a PC operator windows 7 pro 64 bit, 1024MB GeForce GT430 card. Painter X6, X5 and X3, 5 & 6 are upgrades.
I am sure that I used to get a preview of saved RIF paintings before opening some time ago.

Thanks for your interest and help.

b'anna
12-12-2015, 04:20 PM
I can't help with windows 7, I have 10 now but it does let me preview the rif if it is med, large or ex large icon.

jman0war
12-12-2015, 05:16 PM
I am using painter x6 (and other painters)and when I save as a painting in Rif format to a folder it saves ok, no problem.

However when I return to search for the file at a later date I do not see an image of the saved file if I have save as a Rif. but you can see a preview if saved as jpeg. Is this normal or have I not created the correct setup?
I wouldn't be worried about it.
Your talking about a "thumbnail" image.
In your case Windows Explorer does not have software that can display a "thumbnail preview" of that type of file.

This is quite normal when you work with a lot of different 3rd programs.
Sketchup included.

As a work around I have used a free program called XnView to view most thumbnails.

I don't know if XnView will display .RIF files though.