PDA

View Full Version : To smudge or not to smudge....

CustardCream
09-17-2015, 10:45 AM
Do you smudge your pastel paintings or keep them as they are? I personally hate smudging with my fingers (think nails on a chalkboard feeling *shudder*) but using my smudge stick removes too much of the pastel.... Plus I quite like the way this particular portrait looks without smudging.... (Can't upload for some reason as on iPhone and it doesn't want to work)
This is my first time using pastel pencils (faber castell Pitt) and normally I'm a graphite pencil person and I do smudge when using those...
So what are you opinions? Do you smudge or not?

Devonlass
09-17-2015, 11:24 AM
You need to have at least 2 posts I believe before you can post a picture. I rarely smudge (usually referred to as blending) preferring instead to use another pastel to blend where necessary.

CustardCream
09-17-2015, 11:28 AM
Ahhh! That might be why then! ☺️ Good, as that's what I've been doing- often using my white pencil or lighter colours to blend in the dark.

DAK723
09-17-2015, 03:43 PM
Whether to blend or not (and how) is very much a personal preference - plus it depends on what I am painting and what stage of the painting I am working on. I will almost always blend the initial layer as i am trying to cover the paper while using the thinnest application of pastels. I will always blend areas that need soft edges. I will blend a lot when doing portraits and figures. Not so much for landscapes. Often I will let the strokes show on the final layer. So, in other words, it depends!

Don

mudfish
09-17-2015, 07:30 PM