PDA

View Full Version : Preen (Move to Structured Critique)

Batsielicious
09-09-2015, 09:54 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/09-09-2015/1428823_image.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Preen (Move to Structured Critique)
Year Created:
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 33 x 22 cm
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Please feel free to comment on anything at all.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I am overall fairly happy with this piece, however I am confident there is still something to improve. Possibly regarding my technique, composition etc. I'm still quite new to acrylic painting.

jessw
09-09-2015, 06:15 PM
Beautiful rendering of the textures in the feathers. The background looks almost slightly gloomy to me. I'm not sure if this is what you were going for or not. For me, the composition works. Being quite new to acrylic painting, you should be very pleased with this.

jessw
09-09-2015, 08:45 PM
Just wanted to mention that when I posted here earlier I was viewing this thread on my phone instead of on my PC. When I viewed this painting earlier on my phone the background colors looked slightly more grey (probably because the screen on my phone wasn't as clean as it should have been, haha). The colors look more vibrant when I view the image on my PC. So you can disregard the comment I made about the background looking "gloomy".

UnknownArtist
09-10-2015, 02:20 AM
Beautiful painting, love the colorful bird and background. The pose is a little odd for me. You paint so well, I hope you will paint more birds like this without the leg covering the face. Such a pleasing and feel good painting. :)

Batsielicious
09-10-2015, 09:00 AM
No worries jessw, problems of modern technology ;)