PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie

Faafil
07-04-2001, 01:30 AM
Hello everyone!

I have yet to even purchase paper, brushes and paint - other than paint-by-numbers as a kid and the livingroom walls - I haven't painted anything. I'm interested in watercolors, and would like suggestions on a 'starter' toolkit. I understand some items may be pricey, and am not afraid to spend a few bucks for the right tools, but also don't want to go overboard first time out. I've purchased a few books and really can't wait to try my hand at it.

What are your expert opinions on what to purchase my first time at the art supply? :confused:

I'm also looking for instructors or classes, and having no luck - course, I've only been looking the past week or two. I'm in Orange County, California - any recommendations ?

Thanks so much for your help !:)

billyg
07-04-2001, 03:06 AM
:clap:
Welcome Faafil to wetcanvas.
I am suprised you havnt been inundated with advice on what to get to start up in the wonderful(sometimes scary)medium of Watercolour.
Maybe first knowing that watercolour paint is a colour pigment mixed with binder and sometimes a filler which is soluable in water. When applied to paper of various kinds the water evaporates off and leaves the pigment in and on the paper.
Your tools of enjoyment should be the best you can afford within reason. Brushes of pure sable hair maybe Nos 2, 6, and 10 plus a number 2 rigger ( very long and thin and cool for doing all sorts of things.) A 1" or 2" Hake brush or another suitable wash brush for laying down lovely washes.Thats about it for beginning brushes.