PDA

View Full Version : UK pastels - Jackson's, SAA, Daler Rowney?

SarahM
08-17-2015, 02:27 PM
Both Jackson's and the SAA in the UK have their own line of pastels, and the prices seem reasonable. I'm interested in trying them but wondered if anyone here has used either of these brands, and/or the current Daler Rowney soft pastels. If so can you tell me how hard or soft they are in comparison to pastels such as Unison, Sennelier, or Rembrandt? Also, any idea whether Jackson's handmade and SAA pastels are rebranded pastels made by someone else? I'm new to pastels and am looking at investing in a set or two.

RickinNM
08-17-2015, 06:19 PM
I have heard Daler Rowney makes BLICK soft pastels .

I have maybe 75 of Blicks I like them Softer than Art Spectrum and harder than Schminke or Sennelier .

If you look at Daler Rowney color names and Blicks color names pretty much identical . Look at the names and see.

I would relay advice from many get a small set and singles from several companeys to get a feel and see if you like one brand or another .

http://www.dakotapastels.com/pages/index-softpastels.aspx

This link has chart of the softness and has a variety assortment .

Opps forgot overseas shipping the chart is still good though.

robertsloan2
08-18-2015, 01:05 AM
I'd suggest trying a few open stock to see which texture you like and whether they're that different. If the SAA are more like Rembrandts but Daler Rowney softer, you may want to get both. Soft over firm will let you get many more layers in on a painting, especially if it's on non sanded paper.

Or go by cost - pick up the SAA ones as an anchor set since their full range of 72 isn't too expensive, then add some Daler Rowney ones to fill any gaps in the set. I checked the SAA site and there's a solid price bump between SAA and Daler-Rowney. 72 is a good range, you have darks and lights, brights and muted colors, a good spectrum. Most of all you do have warm and cool versions of the spectrum colors.