PDA

View Full Version : Using colored pencils over soft pastels

stargazer21
08-15-2015, 07:46 AM
I'm new to soft pastels and am having trouble getting fine lines. I don' like pastel pencils, they are so scratchy and unreliable. :oDoes anyone know if Faber Castell polychromos pencils will go over soft pastels?

water girl
08-15-2015, 04:56 PM
I don't think so. There are polychromo pastel sticks that are square, so would have a nice edge. If you want black or white lines, consider white and black charcoal pencils. Fine lines are difficult, but when I want a fine line I use a ruler. Lay it down on the left of your pastel pencil, run the line, then reverse it for the other side. I hope that works for you.

JPQ
08-15-2015, 08:54 PM
What i tested Caran d'ache product sample about pastelpencil to me is not what i used scratchy at all. same i think i can say for faber-castells but they have too many fugitve colours. even Talens ones are not scratchy. but first ones are very creamy to my taste. only reason why i dont use them is i cannot shatpen thm itself (i avoid using knife) and saddly one important (to me i mean) hue has problematic pigment.

Mike L
08-15-2015, 11:04 PM
Nupastel are hard pastels in slim square sticks and make very neat and fine lines. Plus, they won't kill most bank accounts.

R/Mike

robertsloan2
08-15-2015, 11:25 PM
Cretacolor Pastels Carre are hard pastels, not too expensive and nicely lightfast. Those go well with soft pastels for detail. I tend to sharpen by sketching flattening one side down into a chisel shape for tiny details.

Moqui Steps
08-16-2015, 12:40 PM