GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: "The Grotto" - critique welcome
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Board
Dimension: 12 x 8 (guess)
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
A painting of mine from a photo I took of the "The Grotto" in the Kimberlies of Weste<br> Australia. The photo is a very processed HDR type image.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Hi I'd love constructive criticism on this one. I'm a very new artist and would be very happy to get suggestions. I am personally quite happy with this one but have noticed friends don't seem that impressed with it lol. I am a keen photographer and remember thinking some of my early photos were great but know better now when I look back at them now! So yeah any lea<br>ings you can give me would be welcome! Don't worry about hurting my feelings :) I have only been playing around for a month or so and I know I have lots to learn.

I do wonder if the lighting is a bit dull and flat... I have posted the original HDR photo of mine too.

Its only a small pic and looks a lot better at a distance...

Bevahlee
07-28-2015, 09:43 PM
well I think you've done a pretty good job, but the trees look too large and too green. Notice the trunks are nearly invisible. Just suggest them in a darker duller green. The rock wall facing the waterfall is in shadow and is much darker. You can achieve this by glazing darker mixes of color over that area (there is a nice glazing medium that I like to use. and some of the waterfall looks too solid. I really like your effects on the rocks, especially on the left.

La_
07-29-2015, 01:53 PM
assuming your posted photos are accurate i have to say - somewhere between the two (super duper soft vs super duper sharp) would be perfect!
that being said, there's a startling amount of detail in such a small piece.
i do think more dark on the right would be an improvement over all, to help pop the lights more.

la

oldnmartist
07-29-2015, 02:10 PM