PDA

View Full Version : Grayed colors

lovingmylife
07-18-2015, 10:29 PM
Hello all, I am a beginner and studying Jackie Simmonds book. She suggests colors like red-gray, purple-gray, green-gray, etc. I have a set of Sennelier 120 half-sticks Paris colors...no wrappers and I'm having a hard time identifying the gray mixtures. I know I can apply gray over the colors, but I wonder if that would achieve the same effect as actually having a stick of red-gray?
I'm using Nupastel on Canson, and want to try landscapes and need those grayed colors.
Can anyone suggest a maker whose grayed colors you like? Or do you gray down your mountains?
Also: do I use a warm gray on a cold blue or cold green, or do I use a cold gray on cold objects?
Much appreciated.:crossfingers:

Barbara WC
07-18-2015, 11:07 PM
Hi Lovingmylife-

Welcome to the Pastel Forum!

You already have the grays you need in that Sennelier 120 half stick set. I have the set, and it's very well balanced.

In the Sennelier 120 set, you will see the colors starting at the top left of the box with the bright yellows- proceeding through reds, blues, greens. When you get to the last row, all of the colors in that row are neutrals and grays...

I took a couple of photos to demonstrate what a gray is (all sticks from the Sennelier 120 half stick set):

Here, I randomly picked out blues, greens and reddish purples- on the top rows, you will see colors that are brighter and clearer colors, and underneath, you will see colors that I would consider "grayed". Can you see that there are blue-grays, green-grays and purple-grays? Some of this is subjective...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/18-Jul-2015/138866-Sennelier_120_grays.jpg