PDA

View Full Version : Hilda (woman with martini and cat)

Jeanette Diaz
07-14-2015, 12:00 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-14-2015/6813_image.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Hilda (woman with martini and cat)
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 24x30
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I feel like I'm done with this one. The inspiration for this piece was from a photograph I took of a friend of mine. I'm a commercial photographer and I really enjoy painting.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Any constructive feedback is great and much appreciated! 😁

If you don't understand this type of art.. Please no need to comment. It's like a buzz kill. lol

GivenToFly
07-14-2015, 01:27 AM
I don't enjoy this kind of art usually so I can't offer anything of value BUT ... I like this piece, its colourful, vibrant and instantly put a smile on my face! Well done :D

La_
07-14-2015, 01:36 AM
how fun is that!
good comp, fun piece
i've attached a greyscale of it so you can see the values
(and to calm all the patterns so i could concentrate)
will let you decide if any adjustments are necessary after looking at the b&w version

la

Jeanette Diaz
07-14-2015, 01:52 AM
This piece makes me smile every time I see it. She seems so happy with that martini! lol
I've never viewed it in black and white! Thanks La
I might need to tweak it a bit! 😂

oldnmartist
07-14-2015, 03:31 PM
Interesting. When I saw the title, even before I saw the piece, I was thinking Matisse! And I was amazed when I saw it. Either I have ESP or you have succeeded not only in capturing the Matisse style but also his way of naming his paintings. I could not pick out the cat at first, very clever. One criticism if I may, the left shoulder looks like it is coming out of the picture, and the left arm is much bigger than the right. Perhaps artistic license though in so nice a piece. Love it.

Bevahlee
07-14-2015, 04:14 PM