PDA

View Full Version : How to do fur in pastels?

BlackScorpion
07-09-2015, 06:46 AM
Hi there,

Newbie here! I have dabbled in drawing in the past, but only started 'for real' this year in February when I started following evening classes in drawing. I do find it interesting as you learn to draw subject you wouldn't immediately think of or be interested in and you get to know different media. For example charcoal, I love charcoal! Been dabbling in it a bit now and I do like it. But we have also tried our hand at soft pastels.

My first drawing in soft pastels was ok. It was a dragon, drawn in example of a toy figure. But afterwards I tried my hand at a cat and that was pure drama. So I was wondering if anybody knows a good online (free) tutorial (images and/or video's) on how to draw a cat or fur with pastels.

Oh 1 more question, but in our evening school we have not been warned about the dust of pastels, but here I do see people taking precautions against the dust. Is it that dangerous?

Thanks,
Blacky / Evy

DAK723
07-09-2015, 08:50 AM
Welcome to the pastel forum!

The dust of pastels is can cause respiratory problems - just like breathing in any type of dust particles. While some folks use pastels for years without any problems, I think it is definitely a good idea to wear a dust mask.

At the risk of sounding annoying, painting fur is no different than painting anything else. Don't think of it as fur, but concentrate on the shapes of color/value that you see. I did a small demo on how I would paint fur a while back and here it is!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-Jul-2015/82335-fur1.jpg