PDA

View Full Version : Bleeding Hearts

TBuneaux
06-20-2015, 09:49 PM
This is my first attempt at painting flowers and my first time using sanded paper - UArt 400 grade. It is 6"x8", done with mostly Derwent pastel pencils and is based on my own photo. C&C please. I can't decide if it's done.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/20-Jun-2015/1965246-image.jpg

TBuneaux
06-21-2015, 08:59 AM
Here is the reference photo.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Jun-2015/1965246-image.jpg

pastel65
06-21-2015, 09:30 AM
I think you did a great job capturing the picture. Last night I wrote a long response and then deleted it since I rambled on and to be honest I am no expert, learning myself. The photo has no real play of light and shadows which I think may be why you are not sure if done. Consider making up a play of sunlight and don't hesitate to use some fun colors in the flowers and leaves. Pick a few of the flowers to be the focal point and play them up a lot. My teacher usually makes us put the reference picture away after we get the basic sketch down. Frees you up to play with colors.

There is a YouTube video I like that I'll look up the title to. Not sure how to cut and paste link on the iPad I'm using but I'll get title for you.

Pam :wave:

pastel65
06-21-2015, 09:54 AM
YouTube video is "How to work with pastels with Lyn Diefenback" it's one of the shows from an Austrailian show called "Put some Colour in Your Life".

She doesn't start painting the flower till about half way but worth waiting for.

I like this Australian show since many good demos for free.

Pam

Donna T
06-21-2015, 12:59 PM
Very nice! You did a great job with a complicated flower. One thing I notice in the photo is that the leaves receiving direct light are cooler in color than those hidden underneath. The ones underneath seem to glow a little warmer green because they are not as influenced by the bluish sky.

Blayne
06-21-2015, 04:59 PM