GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Snowy
Year Created:
Medium: Pastel
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 12 x 24'
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I've been playing around with soft/hard/pencil pastels over the last few weeks (previously only ever worked graphite and terrified of colour) ...

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I found this piece hard as the bird is white ... I had to untrain my brain and then retrain it to see the colour that was really in the "white" ... that aside, im find myself struggling to get good lines with the pastels, although I am enjoying the medium ... any tips on how to get more detail in? (I have had absolutely no training ever ... all self taught so I'm probably not even using the pastels correctly! LOL)

Dana Design
05-20-2015, 12:20 PM
I will "copy" this over to the pastel forum and perhaps you'll get some good pastel help there.

This is looking very good and would love to see your finish!

water girl
05-20-2015, 01:24 PM
First of all, welcome to the pastel forum. I see that you have a solid background in drawing. This is a beautiful composition and your drawing skills are strong. A number of pastel artists who paint animals and birds use pastel pencils to achieve fine details. Also consider playing around with other pastel papers in the future. There are great sanded papers available, I'm just not sure which ones you can find in your area. As for color, particularly when painting "white", think value, not just color. We're happy you joined us and we're looking forward to more of your work.

Blayne
05-20-2015, 01:32 PM
Lovely detail work, especially considering that you're working on canvas!